Tom's Physics 123/223, ES-153 Page


Apr. 17, 2015

Class notes (handwritten) micro 3, subroutines, Thu., 16 April

Apr. 15, 2015

Class notes (handwritten) micro 2, i/o, Tues., 14 April

Apr. 13, 2015

HW D4, due Monday, April 20

Labs: Big Board
Lab micro1: Big Board (Dallas branch)
Lab micro2: Big Board (Dallas branch)
Lab micro 3: Big Board (Dallas branch)
Lab micro 4: Big Board : ADC (Dallas branch)
Labs: SiLabs
Lab C1: startup (SiLabs branch)
Lab C2: byte in, out (SiLabs branch)
Lab C3: timers (SiLabs branch)
Lab C4: ADC, DAC (SiLabs branch)

Apr. 11, 2015

In-class notes (handwritten): micro 1, Thu. 9 April

Apr. 7, 2015

Class notes (handwritten) project day, fragments;

Apr. 6, 2015

HW D3, due Monday, April 13
Verilog template file, hw_adr_decode_MT.v, for HWD3 (not required; you can do the problem with pencil and paper)
Verilog template file, two_bit_simplest_ctr.v, for HWD3
Verilog testbench file, three_bit_sync_clear_tb.v, for HWD3

Apr. 2, 2015

Class notes (handwritten) digital 5, ADC, Thu., 2 April
Bidirectional logic-level signal translator, by Philips Just for fun. An ingenious use of a single transitstor.

Mar. 31, 2015

Class notes (handwritten) digital 4, memory, Tues., 31 March
Class notes (handwritten) digital 3, counters, Thu., 26 March

March 30, 2015

HW D2, due Monday, April 6
Lab 18p: digital project lab
Verilog template file, stepglue_MT_nov12.v, for HWD2
Verilog testbench file, stepglue_MT_nov12_tb.v

A Logic Compiler

Verilog download, free from a PLD manufacturer, Xilinx. The download is very large. You'll find the program here: Xilinx Verilog download (restricted to Xilinx parts); download ISE, NOT VORNADO. Click on ISE (you'll get the free Weback), register, and download version 14.7, the most recent (and last , any sub-revision. You do not need the ModelSim simulator, and when you create a project should choose the ISE simulator, not the Modelsim simulator.
PLDs_and_logic_compilers
Note on Xilinx ISE, more generally: Verilog and ABEL

Mar. 25, 2015

Class notes (handwritten) digital 2, Tues., 24 March

March 23, 2015

HW D1, due Monday, Mar. 30
17S2 note on Address Decoding Possibly helpful on HW D1

Mar. 13, 2015

Class notes (handwritten) digital 1, Thurs., 12 March
Lab 15: digital 2, flip-flops
Class 15 notes (typed): Digital 2 (page one is blank)

Mar. 10, 2015

Analog review notes (typed, from Dec. 2013)
A solution, like yours, to group audio design task

Mar. 8, 2015

In-class notes (handwritten): midterm review session, Sun. 8 Mar..

Mar. 6, 2015

In-class notes (handwritten): MOSFETs, Thu. 5 Mar..

Mar. 4, 2015

In-class notes (handwritten): voltage regulators, Tues. 3 Mar..
In-class notes (handwritten): nasty oscillators, Tues., 24 Feb.

Feb. 27, 2015

In-class notes (handwritten): PID, Thu., 26 Feb.

Feb. 23, 2015

HW 4, due Monday., Mar. 2
Lab 10: Op-amps V, PID motor control loop

Feb. 20, 2015

In-class notes (handwritten): oscillators, Thu., 19 Feb.
HW 3, due Monday., Feb. 23

Feb. 18, 2015

In-class notes (handwritten): op amps II, Tues., 17 Feb.
Lab 9: Op-amps IV, nasty pos feedback

Feb. 16, 2015

In-class notes (handwritten): op amps I, Wed.,Fri., 11, 13 Feb.
In-class notes (handwritten): transistors 2, Thu., 12 Feb.

Feb. 11, 2015

Class 6 notes (typed): Op Amps I
HW 2, due TUESDAY., Feb. 17, AT CLASS
Lab 6: Op-amps I
Lab 7: Op-amps II, imperfect op-amps
Lab 8: Op-amps III, oscillators
http://www.walkingenglishman.com/lakes/masterwindermere.jpg

Feb. 6, 2015

In-class notes (handwritten): transistors I, Thu.., 5 Feb.
Lab 5: Transistors II (bipolar)s

Feb. 4, 2015

In-class notes (handwritten): diode Circuits, Tues., 3 Feb.

Feb. 2, 2015

HW 1, due Mon., Feb. 9
Lab 4: Transistors I (bipolar)s

January 30, 2015

First in-class notes (handwritten): RC Circuits, Jan. 29
Lab 3: Diode Circuits

Blizzard Update: January 26, 2015

As I'm sure you've heard, Harvard is closed on what would have been our first class day, Tuesday, Jan. 27.
We'll essentially abandon that class day. It includes just one important notion that may be new to you: Thevenin's Theorem or his "model" of resistive circuits. We will talk of Thevenin on Thursday (Jan. 29) and then will hurry on into the more interesting (and challenging) material of Day 2.
Here are the typed classnotes for Day2. Please look through these, and leaf through Lab 2 so you'll know what's coming.
Class 2 notes: RC's (typed)

Spring INFORMATION: January 12, 2015

Course Information: intro and schedule Spring 2015
We will hold a normal class and lab on the very first day, Tues., Jan. 27: Please read class and lab notes for Day 1 before you come in.
The course meets in Science Center 206
1st-day Signup Form
Class 1 notes (typed): DC Circuits
Lab 1: DC Circuits
Lab 2: RC Circuits



Hints and Tips, illustrated An excellent introduction to lab setups, by Summer School and SEAS instructor David Abrams

Link to Text problem solutions, and old exams (some with solutions)


Click here to hop to old Finals, and Text-problem solutions


Files are in Acrobat (PDF) Format, Download Acrobat Reader

Most recent entries at top of page